To Sleep in the Arms of Sound

Come and make me feel like I used to,

on those cooling late summer days,

as the apprehension of impending autumn

turned my belly into noodling knots.

 Come and sing me a song.

Be the sunshine burning through

the mist around me.

Give me clarity, give me meaning,

as azure day slips slowly down

into the silky lilac of dusk,

waxing slowly into midnight velvet,

I am still restless.

Sing me a song.

Make me feel that way,

the way I felt

before I knew

the things I know.

Send me to sleep.

Leave a Reply

