There Is Nothing Sweeter

There is nothing sweeter,

Than feeling you are understood,

By a complete stranger,

And that’s what I am doing here.

You are not alone,

My door is open now,

So you can come in.

Sit here beside me,

And let me hold you.

Put your face against mine,

Close your eyes.

They can’t hurt you anymore,

I’ve got you in my arms.

We’re safe when we’re together,

Our need will keep us warm.

 

There is nothing sweeter,

Than feeling you are understood,

By a complete stranger,

Writing words,

And making pictures,

Of stories that you have lived,

And lessons you have learned.

Life isn’t always

The darkness of December,

Though the snow is pretty

Underneath the moonlight.

Winter will thaw,

And brightness will return.

 

There is nothing sweeter,

Than feeling you are understood,

By a complete stranger,

Who is lonely,

Just like you.

And I know that I don’t know you,

But I know that I love you.

My life,

It hurts a lot,

And I know that yours does too.

 

There is nothing sweeter,

Than feeling you are understood,

By a complete stranger,

Connecting our hearts,

And weaving a web,

Of safety and protection

So that when you stumble,

My words will catch you,

And break your fall.

2 thoughts on “There Is Nothing Sweeter

Leave a Reply

