My Wanting

I want to be the first one you see,

And embrace when you arrive home.

And within that embrace,

I want to be the one to dissolve any weariness

You carry from wherever you have been.

I want to take you to a place

Where only I know the path

Through thistle, and tall grass,

To the top of a hill,

Surrounded by a thicket of spiny hedges,

And there we will sit on the cool earth.

I want to lay my head in your lap,

And I want you to stroke my hair,

As the sun says hello to the moon,

Then, I want to be the first one

You have wanted to kiss in a long time,

Then I want you to do it,

Taking it further, all the way,

And if you go quickly, that’s quite alright;

I know you’ll go down,

And fix it.

Leave a Reply

